Red or black?

Some time ago, I talked about the maple tree that is a reminder of Canada in my garden. I wanted to know what kind of maple it is, but could not make a positive identification. Now, it is mature enough to produce seeds.

The leaves have three lobes and have a smooth edge. They also seem to have an elongated shape, but that varies.

The bark is still too young and smooth to help much. So the leaves and the seeds are what I have to go on. According to some online tree identification sites, it can either be a red maple or a black maple. For some reason, I’m leaning toward black maple. It tends to turn red in the autumn, but I get the feeling it is not as red as a red maple would be.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.